Elementary Stories

On January 1 2002 euro cash was introduced in twelve European countries; Austria, Belgium, Finland, , Germany, Greece, Italy, Republic of Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. During February 2002 old currency in the twelve countries (eg. German deutschmark, Italian lira French francs) stopped being legal money.

One euro has 100 cents. There seven banknotes, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and euro. There are eight coins, 1,2,5,10, and 50 cents and 1 and 2 euro.

Euro are the same in all countries. Each country makes own coins. One side is the same throughout the area and one side is a national side and different in each of the twelve countries. The coins notes can be used anywhere in the euro



Copyright © 2003 Time4English. All rights reserved.