Elementary Stories

On January 1 2002 euro cash was introduced in twelve European countries; Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Republic of Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. During February 2002 the old currency in the twelve countries (eg. German deutschmark, Italian lira and French francs) stopped being legal money.

One euro has 100 cents. There are seven banknotes, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 euro. There are eight coins, 1,2,5,10, 20 and 50 cents and 1 and 2 euro.

Euro notes are the same in all countries. Each country makes their own coins. One side is the same throughout the euro area and one side is a national side and is different in each of the twelve countries. The coins and notes can be used anywhere in the euro area.

   Congratulations you've finished this story.
Do it again.
Go back to Elementary.


Copyright © 2003 Time4English. All rights reserved.